FAQS (this will change and expand!)

Q1. Are we allowed to start challenging pairs from NOW, and then start playing from Sunday
19/July? Or should we hold off from challenging until 19/July (official start of the Ladder)?

You can challenge right away. Any matches played before Sunday 19 will be regarded as
having been played next week and will be ‘scored’ on the Ladder at the same time as
matches that are played next week. The ladder will be updated and published on the website
sometime between Sunday and Wednesday of the following week.

Q2. Am | right in understanding that we’re allowed to challenge all of the three Teams above
us at the same time (rather than challenge, then play that match, then challenge another
team, then play that match and so on), and organise the matches for any time within three
weeks of issuing the Challenge?

Yes.

Q3. If we challenge, say, the Team three above us, and arrange to play the match in three
weeks, it is then possible that the team that we have challenged may have gone up a few
places in the intervening weeks (and of course we may have gone down!), and they will then
be more than three places above us on the ladder when we actually play our match... is that
correct? So the ladder position (i.e. up to three places above) is important ON THE DATE OF
THE CHALLENGE, rather than when the match actually takes place.

Yes. Also, when | carry out my weekly update of the ladder (sometime between Sunday and
Wednesday of the following week), | will move / not move pairs in the date order of when
matches were played. You could find that you have won the one match you played in the
previous week but have moved down a rung because your opponents have been leapfrogged
twice since you issued the challenge.

Q4. Can anyone join at any time?

Yes, provided they are introduced by an existing BBO Friends member, they have a partner, they are
familiar with playing on BBO. New members will enter the ladder on the bottom rung. If you wish to
introduce a friend, please contact me on ng34bridge @gmail.com

Q5. Can a pair take time out (for example, when going on a long holiday )?

Yes. Just notify me and | will flag your pair as ‘not available’ on the Ladder. This means that for the
purpose of applying the ‘three pairs above’ rule , your pair will not count. In effect, a pair three places
below you can challenge the pair immediately above you. So you will gradually slip down the ladder.
Just let me know when you become available again.

Q6. Is there ever going to be a ‘Reigning Champion’ pair?

| have not thought this through yet, but we could have an End of Year Champion Pair with a prize, and
maybe another at the end of June.

Q7. Can you challenge a pair below you?

No, but you can invite them to challenge you.
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Q8. Can you play in more than one pair?

Yes, a maximum of two pairs.



